Wednesday, April 29, 2015

Republican Party of Iowa's Annual Lincoln Dinner

The Johnson County Republican Central Committee is now reserving ten-place tables for the Republican Party of Iowa’s Annual Lincoln Dinner scheduled for Saturday, May 16, 2015 with doors opening at 4:30 PM at The Iowa Events Center, 833 Fifth Street, Des Moines.
The steak dinner will feature nine confirmed speakers each of whom is an announced or potential 2016 Republican Party presidential candidate. Those currently, as of April 8, confirmed speakers for the event include former Florida Governor Jeb Bush, Dr. Ben Carson, former HP CEO Carly Fiorina, South Carolina Senator Lindsey Graham, Louisiana Governor Bobby Jindal, former Texas Governor Rick Perry, former Pennsylvania Senator Rick Santorum, businessman Donald Trump and Wisconsin Governor Scott Walker. Four other announced or potential 2016 Republican Party presidential candidates who have been invited, but have yet to accept are New Jersey Governor Chris Christie, former Arkansas Governor Mike Huckabee, Kentucky Senator Rand Paul and Florida Senator Marco Rubio. Following the dinner, arrangements have been made to allow the speakers to meet with attendees.
Individual tickets are $100 each and available directly from The Republican Party of Iowa. The Johnson County Republican Central Committee is now reserving ten-place tables at $750 each reducing the individual ticket price to $75 and guaranteeing a reserved place at a table. Reserved tables will be those placed closest to the speaker’s podium.
Because of the roster of speakers, the proximity to the 2016 Presidential Election and the state-wide demand by county central committees to reserve tables, it is imperative that those wishing to attend as a group from Johnson County reserve their place no later than Monday, May 4, when The Johnson County Republican Central Committee will submit its reservation for tables to The Republican Party of Iowa.
To reserve a place for this event contact Mike Cavanaugh, Deputy-Vice Chairman, Johnson County Republican Central Committee at . He is keeping the reservation list. Please submit your name and the number of places that you wish to reserve. Your email date and time stamp determines your place on the list and assignment to a table. Upon receipt of your email he will reply back to confirm your reservation and place on the list. Grouping reservations by tens will allow us to reserve the correct number of tables and work to place/ back-fill a table with adjacent counties to accommodate everyone. Invoicing and payment for the event will be determined by The Johnson County Republican Central Committee Treasurer.

Wednesday, April 8, 2015

Changing our System for Electing County Supervisors

The push is on to collect enough petition signatures to produce a special election in Johnson County.  In this election the voters will be asked to decide whether the county should be divided into districts for selecting County Supervisors, or remain with the present system of at-large voting.  

The links below are 1) Fresh petitions, and 2) Instructions for collecting signatures.  Everything for the petition drive is explained in these two documents.

All are encouraged to download the forms, make copies for themselves, and collect several pages of signatures. The best way to quickly collect signatures is to work in larger assemblages of people. It all goes very quickly in the right circumstances.  

    The Petition

The old adage, "Many Hands Make Light Work" applies here.  If we all put some effort into this project we will meet our project goals with signatures to spare.  Happy collecting!

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

Adopted in Commitee on December 1, 2014

JCRCC Resolution on Increasing the Gas Tax in Iowa:

Whereas Governor Branstad has just been re-elected to a historic sixth term, carrying all but one of Iowa’s 99 counties;

And whereas Governor Branstad has indicated addressing the need for repairing defective roads and bridges will be a high priority for him in 2015, and that he is open to discussion of all ideas for generating the needed revenues to do so;

And whereas some believe we are not allocating enough funds to address priority needs in a timely fashion and have therefore called for an increase in the gas tax to provide additional funds;

And whereas bureaucrats, including those in the road building and maintenance portions of our local and state government, have incentives to “spend all the money and ask for more” instead of giving back un-needed funds to the general fund or transferring them to other jurisdictions with higher priority needs for road or bridge repair;

And whereas the allocation of road use funds in Iowa has been governed by a formula adopted in 1949 (most recently changed in 1989) which directs 47.5% to primary roads, 24.5% to secondary roads, 8% to farm-to-market roads, and 20% for city streets;

And whereas in 2008 the Iowa General Assembly created the TIME-21 funding stream dedicated to maintenance and construction of primary highways (60%), secondary roads (20%), and municipal streets (20%) by changing vehicle registration fees and schedules, and by increasing trailer and title fees;

And whereas for state fiscal year 2013 receipts into these two funds were $1,300,000,000 comprised of $444,000,000 in fuel taxes, $780,000,000 in registration fees, and $80,000,000 from miscellaneous other sources;

Therefore be it Resolved that the Johnson County Republican Central Committee calls on the Governor to propose a two-year set-aside of the allocation formula and replacing it with a statewide prioritization (by engineers, instead of politicians, based on utilization, safety, and existing conditions) of all the road and bridge repair needs so that we can see if there are actually enough funds to meet the high priority needs if funds are transferred from lower priority “nice, but not necessary” projects such as colored, formed-with-designs highway medium barriers rather than grey pre-fabricated ones on I- 80 through Iowa City, concrete instead of gravel shoulders on both sides of the ring-road around Muscatine, roads from the city to the homes of newly elected county supervisors being paved, etc., etc.